Historic or forward-looking Philanthropy?

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen

the Carnegie Foundation for Lifesavers (Switzerland) is pleased to invite you to its

Carnegie Symposium

The 100th anniversary of the death of Andrew Carnegie, the founder of our foundation, will be commemorated on 24 May 2019 with a half-day symposium in Bern. In a discussion panel, we would like to highlight and discuss current aspects of philanthropy.

In contrast to the USA and the UK, where philanthropists enjoy a high reputation in the public eye, outing themselves as such and encouraging imitation, they tend to keep a low profile according to the motto “Do good but don’t talk about it” in most European countries. It is important to point out these different attitudes, their background and consequences and – if useful – to bring them closer together.

Another aim of the Carnegie Symposium is to raise awareness of the legacy of one of the first and greatest philanthropists, Andrew Carnegie. In this context, questions will be addressed such as: What is philanthropy today? What forms does it take? How do patronage, foundation and donations in the form of money, things and time relate to each other? How do nobleness, business and politics intervene in philanthropic activities?

We look forward to welcoming you in person.

Edith Graf-Litscher, National Councilor
President

Speakers and key topics

Prof. Dr. Henry Peter

Director of the Centre of Philanthropy, University of Geneva

Henry Peter is a professor at the Faculty of Law of the University of Geneva, where he has taught since 1988. For many years he has been committed to corporate governance and social responsibility in his courses and publications. This prompted the Rectorate of the University of Geneva to entrust him with the task of creating and managing a Centre of Philanthropy in 2017. He is a member of several organizations dealing with governance and ethics issues. The Centre of Philanthropy, unique in Europe, is a partnership between the University of Geneva (UNIGE) and private foundations such as the Edmond de Rothschild Foundation, the Lombard Odier Foundation and Swiss Life. The Centre’s mission is to provide a multidisciplinary approach to philanthropy and to promote academic research and training in the field while ensuring the dissemination of knowledge to professionals and the city.

»Historical and forward-looking philanthropy ?«

Philanthropy is certainly not a new concept, but it is developing very rapidly; one can even say that a paradigm shift is currently taking place from different perspectives:
– The development of the concept. Some people speak of a new philanthropy. Is that true?
– The development of goals. The goals have become more global and more strategic.
– The development of the actors. Global Companies often have more weight and resources today than governments.
– The development of methods. New means and approaches have developed, e.g. from the point of view of governance, the search for maximum impact or the scalability of fundraising.
– The development of research and teaching. In this context, we also observe an acceleration of scientific activity, i.e. research and the resulting transfer of knowledge.

Samuel Schmid

Advocate and Notary Public, former Federal Councillor

Samuel Schmid completed his law studies at the University of Bern with a degree in advocacy and notary public. He opened his own practice in 1978.

Samuel Schmid presided over the Bernse trade association. As President of the Constitutional Commission, he played a key role in the Bern Constitution.

His political career culminated in his election to the Federal Council in 2001. He was Federal President in 2005. Samuel Schmid headed the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport (SBS) of Switzerland throughout his term of office until 2008.

«Philanthropy and welfare policy; complementary or competing principles?»
In a world where everything happens practically on our doorstep, poverty and hardship are omnipresent. How grateful we are therefore to philanthropists who help to alleviate need and poromote education and development! Gratitude also goes to all those who, according to their means, show charity through making every kind of contribution.

Prof. Dr. Georg von Schnurbein

Director Center for Philanthropy Studies (CEPS), University of Basel

Georg von Schnurbein is Professor for Foundation Management at the Faculty of Economic Sciences and Director of the Center for Philanthropy Studies (CEPS) at the University of Basel, which he founded in 2008. From 2011-2007 he worked as a research assistant at the Institute of Association Management (VMI) at the University of Fribourg (Switzerland). Here he was project coordinator of the Swiss State Studies for Visions and Roles of Foundations in Europe and the Johns Hopkins Comparative Nonprofit Sector Project.

His research focuses on impact assessment, financial management of NPOs and nonprofit governance. Georg von Schnurbein is co-editor of the Swiss Foundation Code 2015 and the annual Swiss Foundation Report.

“Future significance of philanthropy in the USA, Europe, and Switzerland”.

Philanthropy has become a strong social trend on both sides of the Atlantic. Both in the USA and in many European countries, more than half of the foundations in existence today were established after 1990. However, the socio-political changes of recent years have also shown that philanthropy cannot stand alone. As in the days of Carnegie, philanthropy must be measured by its contribution to social development.

Dr. Sebastian Schwark

Managing Director, Edelman Berlin

Dr. Sebastian Schwark is a strategic communications consultant and political analyst. As Managing Director, he is head of the Berlin office of the leading international communications consultancy Edelman. Dr. Schwark holds a doctorate in political science and is a former fellow of the German Marshall Fund of the United States, Washington, and the European Institute of Columbia University, New York.

In his nearly twenty-year career, Dr. Schwark has advised Vestas, Chevron, Statoil, Vattenfall, the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA), Aviva, McKinsey, the UN Population Fund (UNFPA), the Carnegie Corporation of New York, the Qatar Foundation and the King Abdullah Foundation, among others.

“On the Current State of Philanthropy.”

The current state of philanthropy in Europe, the United States and worldwide will be highlighted on the basis of systematic empirical and historical considerations.
In particular, the motivation of philanthropists, as well as their development perspectives will be looked at. The basis of their decisions which concerns and projects to support are taken into account.

Dr., Dr. h. c. mult. Hansjörg Wyss

Patron

Berne-born Hansjörg Wyss, entrepreneur and patron, has financed several hundred million Swiss francs in projects related to science, research, culture, environmental protection and amateur sport. Now, through his foundation, he wants to donate another billion dollars towards environmental protection. The money will be used to conserve strips of land and marine areas for improved air quality and clean drinking water. Hansjörg Wyss wants in this way to contribute to maintaining around 30 percent of the planet in a natural state by 2030.

The presentation will be supplemented by first-hand insight into the motives behind his donations.

Moderation

Beate Eckhardt, lic. phil. I EMScom

Managing Director

Beate Eckhardt is the Managing Director of the Association of Swiss Promotional Foundations, SWISS FOUNDATIONS. She previously worked as a freelance communications and project manager with a focus on education, culture, architecture and urban planning. She studied German linguistics and literature as well as social and economic history at the University of Zurich and holds a Master of Science in Communications Management from the University of Lugano and the University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). Beate Eckhardt is an honorary board member of the Swiss Non-Profit Society, a board member of the Theater am Neumarkt and a member of the Zurich Philanthropy Roundtable.

Historische oder zukunftsweisende Philanthropie?

Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren

Die Carnegie-Stiftung für Lebensretter/innen (Schweiz) freut sich, Sie zu ihrem

Carnegie-Symposium

sehr herzlich einzuladen. Das 100. Todesjahr von Andrew Carnegie, dem Gründer unserer Stiftung, wird am 24. Mai 2019 in Bern mit einem halbtägigen Symposium gewürdigt, an dem aktuelle Aspekte rund um das Thema Philanthropie beleuchtet und diskutiert werden.

Im Gegensatz zu den USA und UK, wo Philanthropen in der Öffentlichkeit grosses Ansehen geniessen, sich als solche outen und zur Nachahmung anregen, halten sie sich im übrigen Europa eher bedeckt nach dem Motto “Tue Gutes, aber sprich nicht darüber”. Diese unterschiedliche Haltung sowie deren Hintergrund und Folgen gilt es aufzuzeigen und – falls sinnvoll und nützlich – einander näher zu bringen.

Ein weiteres Ziel des Carnegie-Symposiums ist, das Erbe einer der ersten und grössten Philanthropen, Andrew Carnegie, bewusster zu machen. In diesem Kontext sollen Fragen angesprochen werden wie etwa: Was ist Philanthropie heute? Welche Formen weist sie auf? Wie hängen Mäzenatentum, Stiftung und Spenden in Form von Geld, Sachen und Zeit zusammen? Wie greifen Edelmut, Wirtschaft und Politik in das philanthropische Wirken ein?

Nun freue ich mich, Sie persönlich zu begrüssen.

Edith Graf-Litscher, Nationalrätin
Präsidentin

Referenten und Referatsschwerpunkte

Prof. Dr. Henry Peter

Direktor des Zentrum der Philanthropie, Universität von Ge

Henry Peter ist ordentlicher Professor an der Juristischen Fakultät der Universität Genf, wo er seit 1988 unterrichtet. Seit vielen Jahren engagiert er sich in seinen Kursen und Publikationen für Governance und soziale Verantwortung der Unternehmen. Dies veranlasste das Rektorat der Universität Genf, ihm im Jahr 2017 die Aufgabe zu übertragen, ein Zentrum für Philanthropie zu schaffen und zu verwalten.
Er ist Mitglied mehrerer Organisationen, die sich mit Governance- und Ethikfragen befassen.

Das in Europa einzigartige Philanthropiezentrum ist eine Partnerschaft zwischen der Universität Genf (UNIGE) und privaten Stiftungen wie die Stiftung Edmond de Rothschild , die Stiftung Lombard Odier und Swiss Life. Die Aufgabe des Zentrums besteht darin, Philanthropie multidisziplinär zu behandeln und die akademische Forschung sowie die Ausbildung in diesem Bereich zu fördern und gleichzeitig die Verbreitung von Wissen an die Fachleute und die Stadt sicherzustellen.

« Historische und zukunftweisende Philanthropie ? »

Philanthropie ist sicherlich kein neues Konzept, aber sie entwickelt sich sehr schnell; man kann sogar sagen, dass derzeit ein Paradigmenwechsel aus verschiedenen Perspektiven stattfindet:
– Die Entwicklung des Konzepts. Einige Leute sprechen von einer neuen Philanthropie. Ist das wahr?
– Die Entwicklung der Ziele. Die Ziele sind globaler und strategischer geworden.
– Die Entwicklung der Akteure. Unternehmen, die oft globalisiert sind, haben heute oft mehr Gewicht und Ressourcen als Regierungen.
– Die Entwicklung der Methoden. Neue Mittel und Ansätze haben sich entwickelt, z. B. aus der Sicht der Governance, der Suche nach maximaler Wirkung oder der Skalierbarkeit von Spendensammlung.
– Die Entwicklung von Forschung und Lehre. In diesem Zusammenhang beobachten wir auch eine Beschleunigung der wissenschaftlichen Tätigkeit, d.h. der Forschung und des daraus resultierenden Wissenstransfers.

Samuel Schmid

Fürsprecher und Notar, alt Bundesrat

Samuel Schmid schloss sein Studium der Rechtswissenschaften an der Universität Bern mit dem Abschluss als Fürsprecher und Notar ab. 1978 eröffnete er eine eigene Praxis.

Samuel Schmid präsidierte den bernischen Gewerbeverband. Als Präsident der Verfassungskommission war er massgeblich an der Berner Verfassung beteiligt.

Seine politische Laufbahn gipfelte 2001 mit seiner Wahl in den Bundesrat. Im Jahr 2005 war er Bundespräsident. Während seiner ganzen Amtszeit bis 2008 leitete Samuel Schmid das Eidgenössische Departement für Verteidigung, Bevölkerungsschutz und Sport (SBS).

«Philanthropie und sozialstaatliche Politik; Komplementarität oder konkurrierende Prinzipien?»
In einer Welt, in der alles praktisch gleich nebenan passiert, ist Not und Elend allgegenwärtig. Wie dankbar sind wir deshalb Philanthropen, die helfen, Not zu lindern sowie Ausbildung und Entwicklung zu fördern! In den Dank eingeschlossen sind aber alle, die im Rahmen ihrer Möglichkeiten mit Beiträgen jeder Art Barmherzigkeit zeigen.

Prof. Dr. Georg von Schnurbein

Direktor Center for Philanthropy Studies (CEPS), Universität Basel

Georg von Schnurbein ist Professor für Stiftungsmanagement an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät und Direktor des Center for Philanthropy Studies (CEPS) der Universität Basel, das er 2008 gegründet hat. Zuvor arbeitete er von 2011-2007 als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Verbandsmanagement Institut (VMI) der Universität Freiburg (Schweiz). Hier war er Projektkoordinator der Schweizer Länderstudien für Visions and Roles of Foundations in Europe und das Johns Hopkins Comparative Nonprofit Sector Project.

Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen auf Wirkungsmessung, Finanzmanagement von NPO und Nonprofit Governance. Georg von Schnurbein ist Mit-Herausgeber des Swiss Foundation Code 2015 und des jährlich erscheinenden Schweizer Stiftungsreports.

«Künftige Bedeutung der Philanthropie in den USA, in Europa und in der Schweiz»

Philanthropie ist auf beiden Seiten des Atlantiks zu einem starken gesellschaftlichen Trend geworden. Sowohl in den USA, als auch in vielen europäischen Ländern sind mehr als die Hälfte der heute existierenden Stiftungen nach 1990 entstanden. Die gesellschaftspolitischen Veränderungen der letzten Jahre haben aber auch gezeigt, dass Philanthropie nicht für sich alleine stehen kann. Wie schon zu Zeiten Carnegies muss die Philanthropie an ihrem Beitrag zur gesellschaftlichen Entwicklung gemessen werden.

Dr. Sebastian Schwark

Managing Director, Edelman Berlin

Dr. Sebastian Schwark ist strategischer Kommunikationsberater und Politikanalyst. Als Managing Director leitet er den Standort Berlin der internationalen, führenden Kommunikationsberatung Edelman. Dr. Schwark ist promovierter Politikwissenschaftler und ehemaliger Fellow des German Marshall Fund of the United States, Washington, und des European Institute der Columbia University, New York.

In seiner knapp zwanzigjährigen Karriere hat Dr. Schwark unter anderem Vestas, Chevron, Statoil, Vattenfall, die Internationale Organisation für erneuerbare Energien (IRENA), Aviva, McKinsey, den UN Population Fund (UNFPA), die Carnegie Corporation of New York, die Qatar Foundation und die King Abdullah Foundation beraten.

«Zum gegenwärtigen Stand der Philanthropie»
Anhand von empirischen und historisch-systematischen Überlegungen wird der gegenwärtige Stand der Philanthropie in Europa, den Vereinigten Staaten und weltweit entwickelt. Dabei werden insbesondere die Motivation von Philanthropen sowie ihre Entwicklungswege und Grundlagen ihrer Entscheidungen, welche Anliegen und Projekte unterstützt werden, berücksichtigt.

Dr., Dr. h. c. mult. Hansjörg Wyss

Patron

Der gebürtige Berner Unternehmer und Mäzen Hansjörg Wyss finanzierte mehrere Hundert Millionen Franken in Projekte der Wissenschaft, Forschung, Kultur, des Umweltschutzes und Breitensports. Nun will er mit seiner Stiftung eine Milliarde Dollar erneut für den Umweltschutz spenden. Mit dem Geld sollen Landstreifen und Meeresgebiete geschützt werden für bessere Luft und sauberes Trinkwasser. Hansjörg Wyss will dazu beitragen, bis ins Jahr 2030 rund 30 Prozent der Erdfläche in einem natürlichen Zustand zu erhalten.

Als Ergänzung der Referate ist aus erster Hand ein Einblick in die Beweggründe seiner Zuwendungen gedacht.

Moderation

Beate Eckhardt, lic. phil. I EMScom

Geschäftsführerin

Beate Eckhardt leitet den Verband der Schweizer Förderstiftungen SwissFoundations als Geschäftsführerin. Zuvor war sie als frei schaffende Kommunikations- und Projektleiterin mit Schwergewicht Bildung, Kultur sowie Architektur und Städtebau tätig. Sie hat an der Universität Zürich Deutsche Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft sowie Sozial- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte studiert und an der Universität Lugano und der University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) einen Master of Science in Communications Management erworben. Ehrenamtlich engagiert sich Beate Eckhardt als Vorstandsmitglied der Schweizerischen Gemeinnützigen Gesellschaft, als Verwaltungsrätin des Theaters am Neumarkt sowie als Mitglied des Zürcher Philanthropy Roundtable.